Product Reviews

Lee Side Elastic Short

Classic 5 pocket short with flexible comfort waist
Average Customer Rating:
3.815 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
18of27(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Side Elastic Short
Review 1 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
By paintedponie936
Douglass, TX
Fit
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Value
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
best shorts around
December 31, 2011
"i have worn this style of shorts for many years. they are hard to find now in the stores and was really happy to find the online. great fitting higher waist, comfortable shorts."
Pros: Stylish, Affordable, Comfortable, higher waist than most
Cons: not easy to find in stores
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
By ShortOne
Mtn. Home, AR
Fit
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
Value
3 Stars 5
3 Stars 5
Great shorts
April 17, 2013
"I have several colors of these from last year and the material was heavier. These seem like too many items in the market now that the material is of lesser quality and won't last like previous styles."
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: material is thinner
Review 3 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
By GrandmaJudy
Ocala, FL
Fit
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
Value
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
Big big big
March 31, 2013
"I really can't comment on these jean shorts because they were so large in size and I had to return them. They do not run true to size so if you normally take a size 8, order a size 6 or smaller. They run that large."
Pros: nice material
Cons: Not Stylish
Review 4 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
By SoFineTexan
Texas
Fit
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
Value
3 Stars 5
3 Stars 5
Disappointed
March 12, 2013
"Originally I gave these shorts a good review but after wearing them there have been problems. They stretch out too much and the seat (crotch) has so much fabric that it actually bunches up to the front when you walk. Then when you sit down they ride up and are embarassing and messy looking The cut is too ample in the crotch and has way too much fabric. I actually remade one pair which involved taking out part of the hem, opening the center crotch seam and cutting out some of the fabric. Needless to say it was a lot of work. They may fit some but I doubt it. These problems were not noticed until I actually wore them."
Review 5 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
By katesmom
Mena, Arkansas
Fit
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Value
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
A good fit
August 1, 2012
"Like other reviews - when these shorts arrived with a lighter fabric - I was a bit skeptical; but I'm finding them much more comfortable in the extreme heat we are experiencing this summer here in the South. I just wish that Lee would design these same shorts without the back pockets (like their side-elastic jeans)....."
Pros: Comfortable
Review 6 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
By Cole70
Chicagoland
Fit
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
Value
3 Stars 5
3 Stars 5
No gap waist but cheap, stiff material
July 24, 2012
"Finally shorts that dont gap at the waist! They seem to run small and are actually a tad snug. The waist also sits WAY above my natural waist. I purchased the palm color and the material is stiff even after washing. The color itself is kind of funky too-more green than the photo."
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: stiff material, high waist
Response from Lee.com:By JGConsumer ServicesAugust 7, 2012
We're so sorry you weren't happy with your recent Lee Jeans purchase. We will forward your comments to our Product Developers for future consideration.
Review 7 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
By violetlions
Atlanta, GA
Fit
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Value
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
Great but never available
July 18, 2012
"Wonderful shorts. Comfortable, fit great, last. But I can never ever get them in my size (14M) or in anything but the basic colors. I lucked into rose last year but nothing, nothing, nothing available. And it isn't even August!"
Pros: Stylish, Affordable, Comfortable
Cons: never available, not enough color choices
Review 8 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
By bonniesmom
Sevierville, TN
Fit
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
Value
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
Good fit
July 17, 2012
"I have worn this brand and style of shorts for years. The fabric is different in the ones just received, And the sizing is a litle on the smaller size.I didn't find out that the tan pair ordered was not available until my package arrived."
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: pricey
Review 9 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
By snooze
College Park, MD
Fit
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Value
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Nice length
July 11, 2012
"These are a great length. Love the side elastic. I do alot of bending and these don't cut into my waist when I bend over."
Pros: Stylish, Affordable, Comfortable
Review 10 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
By minniestuff
Cenrtal Valley, CA
Fit
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Value
3 Stars 5
3 Stars 5
White Shorts-Fabric is too THIN
July 10, 2012
"I have been buying these side elastic shorts for 9 years. I agree with others who have written that the fabric is not as thick as it used to be.
I purchased the side elastic shorts in white, and the fabric is so thin that I must wear a long blouse (a person actually read my underwear label through the fabric--that is how THIN it is). I purchased two pairs last year and this was not the case.
However, the shorts fit well and wash/dry well-just have to make sure you have a very long blouse covering them.
I beg of you, Lee.com, go back to the fabric that you have used for the white shorts in the past."
Pros: Affordable, Comfortable
Cons: white fabric too thin
Response from Lee.com:By JGConsumer ServicesJuly 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments on the side elastic shorts. We're sorry that you are not happy with the fabric. We will forward your comments on to our Product Developers for future consideration.
Review 11 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
By hmstudent
Colorado Springs, CO
Fit
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Value
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Best Shorts
July 7, 2012
"These shorts are comfortable, easy to wear, easy to wash, and are great looking. A must for anyone who likes easy fit shorts."
Pros: Stylish, Affordable, Comfortable
Review 12 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
By ptjannlyte1
Florida
Fit
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
Value
3 Stars 5
3 Stars 5
Elastic sides
June 29, 2012
"Used to love these. The quality of the fabric is no where near what it used to be. Also, I would like them in a 10 inch length due to getting older and wanting a little more coverage."
Pros: Stylish, Affordable, Comfortable
Cons: very light weight denim
Review 13 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
By mlajh
A Detroit Suburb, MI
Fit
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Value
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
Jean Shorts that fit
June 25, 2012
"I have a small waist with larger hips and Lee's side elastic jeans and shorts are the only ones I have found that fit me. They seem to be well made and the pair that these replaced lasted through many summers of wear. When on sale, they are affordable. Before ordering I always scan the internet for coupon codes which can help with the price and/or shipping charges."
Pros: Stylish, Affordable, Comfortable
Review 14 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
By exsctechr
Florida and Virginia
Fit
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
Value
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
My Favorites
June 8, 2012
"I agree with the reviews that state that these shorts are not the same item as sold by Lee in years past. The fit is slightly different (cut?) and the fabric not as heavy but, that being said, these are still the very best fitting shorts that I can find. I wear a size 4 which I used to be able to buy in the Lee outlet stores but now is about impossible--wish this size could be ordered on-line. The next size up is OK and as I said, this side elastic style is the only one that fits my shape. Don't stop making them! (but other colors would be great!)"
Pros: Affordable, Comfortable, fits shape--small waist with wider hips
Cons: width of leg openings a little too wide
Review 15 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
By CathyS
Weston, FL
Fit
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
Value
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
Not the Same Shorts
May 22, 2012
"I have purchased this style in the past and have been extremely satisfied. Don't be fooled by the name; these are not the same shorts. The fabric feels cheap and thin and the workmanship is sloppy. They are a tighter fit than previously. These shorts are on their way back. I am so disappointed in the cheapening of what was a great product. Low quality at a high price."
Cons: expensive for the quality, run small
Review 16 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
3 Stars 5
3 Stars 5
By Munchkim97
New Castle, DE
Fit
3 Stars 5
3 Stars 5
Value
3 Stars 5
3 Stars 5
Side Elastic Jean Shorts
May 7, 2012
"I bought and wore the Lee Side Elastic Jean shorts on Sunday. I am disappointed in the fabric quality of them this year. Much thinner and no flowered reinforced area around the waist. I also do not like the circumference of the hem. It is much too big. I also noticed the price increase. At a time when the economy is horrible, the quality went down and the price went up. It is however the perfect length for shorts. I also would like to see the black color be brought back and maybe even add other colors. That being said, they are still comfortable to wear."
Pros: Affordable, Comfortable
Cons: low quality material, too wide at the hem
Review 17 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
By sillyjilly
Lakewood, Ca
Fit
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Value
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
Best fitting jeans
April 28, 2012
"Love, love, love these shorts and pants. They're the only thing that fits me and is comfortable too. I also love the new thinner material. Makes my tummy look smaller. :)
They are getting harder and harder to find. Boo Hoo!
"
Pros: Affordable, Comfortable, great fit
Review 18 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
3 Stars 5
3 Stars 5
By terrifictigger
Sanford, FL
Fit
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
Value
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
not as good as they use to be
April 16, 2012
"Buyer be ware. I am very disappointed in Lee with this last purchase. I have purchased Lee side elastic jeans and shorts for many years now and I have to say they really skimped this time around. 2 years ago I noticed the shorts were shorter than normal, much wider at the hemline, and the material was much more stretchy (forgiving). However, that added stretch now makes them ride up. This recent purchase I noticed the thin cheap looking material they used. It is not like it use to be. The flower material that was sewed into waistband is no longer there. The price was more than I have paid in the past and the quality is not nearly as good. I am trying to decide if I should send them back. Lee is the only company I know that makes side elastic waist bottoms. Which really helps when you have a small waist and large hips. Lee bring the old shorts back!"
Pros: fits in the waist, fits the hips
Cons: cheap fabric, too baggy at the hemline, too short, pricey
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
1 Stars 5
1 Stars 5
By CountryGirlbyBirth
Wodvile, Al
Fit
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Value
2 Stars 5
2 Stars 5
Were my Favorit
April 12, 2012
"I do not like the material it is not the heavy material that my last shorts were made of. I do not like the thin stretchy denim material these are made of. Bring back the original denim material."
Pros: Stylish, Affordable, Comfortable
Cons: not the heavy denim material
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Side Elastic Short
Overall Rating
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
By Pegmyster
Tahoe City, CA
Fit
5 Stars 5
5 Stars 5
Value
4 Stars 5
4 Stars 5
Want more Colors!
April 1, 2012
"I love these shorts, I have been wearing the side-elastic shorts and jeans for years and keep coming back for more! I just wish there were more colors to choose from...bright red, black, sage green, yellow or navy?"
Pros: Stylish, Affordable, Comfortable
1 2 next>>